India Falls to Pakistan’s Bowling Prowess, All Out for 266 in Asia Cup Clash


In the Asia Cup ODI match against Pakistan, the Indian team was dismissed for a total of 266 runs in the 49th over. Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat first in the game, which took place at Pali Kele Stadium in Sri Lanka.

The Indian batting lineup faced significant pressure against the Pakistani bowlers right from the start. Rohit Sharma was an early casualty, falling to Shaheen Shah Afridi after contributing just eleven runs off 22 balls. Soon after, Virat Kohli was bowled out by Shaheen for a mere 4 runs.

Haris Rauf claimed the wicket of Shreyas Iyer, who managed to score 14 runs. At this point, India had reached a total of 51 runs but had lost three wickets. Unfortunately, rain interrupted the match, causing a temporary halt.

After the rain delay, Shubman Gill was bowled out by Haris Rauf. However, Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan played a fantastic innings without any pressure, consistently finding the gaps in the Pakistani bowlers’ field placements.

Ishan Kishan was the standout performer for India, amassing 82 runs before falling victim to Haris Rauf. Shortly after, Hardik Pandya was dismissed by Shaheen Shah Afridi after a commendable 87-run contribution. India managed to reach a total of 266 runs before getting all out, just 7 balls shy of their allotted 50 overs.

On the bowling front for Pakistan, Shaheen Shah Afridi claimed four crucial wickets while conceding 35 runs. Naseem Shah secured three wickets by giving away 36 runs, and Haris Rauf also picked up three wickets while giving away 58 runs.

In the clash between Pakistan and India, the Pakistani playing XI remained unchanged from the previous match. Captain Babar Azam and vice-captain Shadab Khan were both included in the lineup, along with Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, and Haris Rauf.

The Indian playing XI consisted of captain Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, as well as Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, and Kuldeep Yadav.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.