Bagh District Azad Kashmir

The Bagh District Azad Kashmir is one of the 10 districts.

The Bagh District Azad Kashmir is bounded on the north by the Muzaffarabad District, the Hattian Bala District, and the Baramulla District of Indian-administered Jammu and Kashmir, on the east by the Haveli District, on the south by the Poonch District, and on the west by the Rawalpindi District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province.


The total area of the district is 770 square kilometers. The Bagh District is linked to the Muzaffarabad District by two roads, one via Sudhan Gali (80 km) and the other via Kohala (97 km). The district headquarters is in the city of Bagh, which is situated 46 km from Rawalakot. It is said that a bagh (garden) was set up by a landowner where the premises of the Forest Department are now located. As a result, the area that is now the district headquarters was named “Bagh

Administrative divisions

The district of Bagh is subdivided into 4 tehsils:

  1. Bagh Tehsil
  2. Dhirkot Tehsil
  3. Hari Ghel Tehsil
  4. Rera Tehsil
  5. Birpani Tehsil

Map Image from