Election Commission of Azad Jammu and Kashmir has Announced the Schedule for Local Council Elections on Specific Seats


The Election Commission of Azad Jammu and Kashmir has announced the schedule for local council elections on specific seats.

Polling will take place from 10:00 am to 12:00 pm on February 1st. Nomination papers for women, youth, and farmers seats in various local councils can be submitted between January 18th and 19th from 3:00 pm.

The nominations will be scrutinized from January 21st to 23rd. Appeals against the rejection of nomination papers can be filed before a tribunal, with decisions given on January 26th. Nominations can be withdrawn until January 27th at 2:00 pm, after which the final list will be issued.

The eligibility criteria for candidates participating in the youth, women, workers, and farmers elections on specific seats includes an age limit of 18 to 40 years for youth seats, 21 years for other seats, and being entered as a voter in the electoral roll of the ward they wish to contest in.

Candidates must also not fall under any disqualification category outlined in the Second Schedule of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Local Government Act, 1990.

1 Comment
  1. […] Raja, and attended by the Secretary of the Election Commission, Umar Hameed, and the Provincial Election Commissioner of Karachi, Ejaz Anwar Chauhan. The meeting decided that the local body elections in […]

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.