The Mirpur is the District of Azad Kashmir. The Mirpur District Azad Kashmir is bounded on the north by the Kotli District, while the Bhimber District is located to the east of it.

The Gujrat District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province is south of Mirpur, while the Jhelum District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province is southwest of it. Finally, the Rawalpindi District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province is located west of it.

The name of the district comes from the principal city that is located there, Mirpur. The Mirpur District has a total land area of 1,010 km2 and is home to a population of 456,200 people (390 sq mi). Most of the territory is made up of mountains, but some are also lowlands. The climate of the Mirpur District is classified as humid subtropical, and it is very similar to the climates of the Gujrat District and the Jhelum District, which are neighboring districts in the Punjab Province of Pakistan.


One of the five districts that made up the Jammu Province in the princely state of Jammu and Kashmir during the time of the British Raj, the Mirpur District was one of those districts. According to the census completed in 1941, the population was 386,655, with around 80% of the inhabitants belonging to the Muslim faith and 16% to the Hindu faith. It included the Bhimber Tehsil, the Kotli Tehsil, and the Mirpur Tehsil as its parts.

In the years that followed, the administrative status of the tehsils of Bhimber and Kotli was changed to that of districts. At present, the Mirpur Division of Azad Kashmir is made up of these three districts. A little part of the historic Mirpur District was incorporated into the present-day Rajouri District of Jammu & Kashmir under the Indian administration.

More so than with the city of Jammu and the rest of the Jammu Province, the original Mirpur District, along with the Poonch District and the Rajouri District, had close geographic, ethnic, and cultural ties with the region of West Punjab. This was the case more so than with the Jammu Province.

Scholar Christopher Snedden asserted that the people living in the Mirpur area strongly desired to become a part of Pakistan during the partition for the reasons mentioned above.

In November 1947, armed Pakistani tribesmen and soldiers carried out the “Mirpur Massacre” in the district of Mirpur. This massacre resulted in the deaths of many Hindus, Sikhs, and refugees fleeing the partition of India.

Language and Ethnicity

The primary language, estimated to be spoken by 85 percent of the population in the district, is recognized by various names, some confusing. Some people call it Punjabi, while others call it Pahari, Mirpur Pahari, Mirpuri, and Pothwari.

Its native speakers call it all of these names. Sociolinguists have traditionally considered it one of the three most essential dialects of the Pahari-Pothwari language complex, which can be thought of as an intermediate language between Lahnda and Punjabi.

Mirpur Pahari is mutually intelligible with the other two significant dialects, the Pothwari of the Potohar Plateau in the Punjab Province, and the Pahari spoken to the north in Azad Kashmir and around Murree. It also shares between 77% and 84% of its basic vocabulary with them, although the differences between it and the northernmost varieties (in Muzaffarabad) are sufficient to impede understanding.

People who speak Mirpuri have a strong sense of Kashmiri identity, which precedes the linguistic connection with closely related people outside Azad Kashmir. This is because Mirpuri is an indigenous language of Kashmir.

An estimated ten percent of people in this country speak Gujari as their native tongue. The local dialect shares a strong relationship with the Gujari variations spoken throughout the rest of Azad Kashmir and in the Hazara region. Urdu and English are two of the other languages that are spoken.


The district is administratively subdivided into two tehsils.

  1. Dadyal Tehsil
  2. Mirpur Tehsil

Villages in Mirpur

The following Notable villages include in the Mirpur district :

Dadyal Tehsil

  • Amb
  • Balathi
  • Chattroh
  • Haveli Baghal
  • Kathar Dilawar Khan
  • Mandi
  • Mohra Malkan
  • Mohra Sher Shah
  • Rajoa
  • Ratta
  • Sahalia
  • Sarthala
  • Siakh Pahaith
  • Thalarajwali Khan
  • Thub Jagir

Mirpur Tehsil

  • Abdulahpur
  • Abdupur
  • Arah Jagir
  • Banni
  • Chabrian Dattan
  • Chak Haryam
  • Chakswari
  • Chandral
  • Chatan
  • Chechian
  • Chitterpari
  • Dalyala
  • Dheri Thothal
  • Ghaseetpur Awan
  • Ghaseetpur Sohalian
  • Islamgarh
  • Jangian Kotla
  • Jatlan
  • Kakra
  • Kalyal Bhainsi
  • Kas Kalyal
  • Khari Sharif
  • Khokhar
  • Mehmunpur
  • Nagial
  • Pakhral
  • Potha Bainsi
  • Sahang